Avoiding SPAM When Entering (and WINNING) Contests

Leave a comment

March 4, 2013 by Cory

Image

Often, when I tell people about the random contests that I have entered and the prizes I have won, people assume that there is a tradeoff and that I get unmanageable amounts of texts, e-mails, regular mail, Facebook messages, and phone calls.  While it has the potential to be true, it is rarely ever the case.  I have listed a few tips of how to avoid Spam when entering contests below:

E-mails:  In almost every case of entering contests, I have used an e-mail address.  Sometimes, to confirm it is a real e-mail address, you need to verify this by clicking a link in an e-mail.  I found that this is the easiest way to get plenty of unwanted e-mails, so I chose to create a separate e-mail address for the occasion of entering contests.  When I win a contest, I often receive an e-mail titled “Congratulations!” or “You won!!”  I usually open any e-mails I receive and click UNSUBSCRIBE should it be a random Spam e-mail from entering a contest.  Then, I won’t hear from that company again (unless I want to).

Facebook:  This is a bit trickier as I would prefer not to have hundreds of fan pages simply because I “liked” them to be entered into contests, so I chose to use my new e-mail address to register for a linked Facebook account.  I only use this Facebook account to enter Facebook Sweepstakes (click here to see a previous blog post related to this topic).

Phone Calls:  While contests often ask for a phone number, about 90% of the time, you will only receive a phone call in the case that you actually win something.  Luckily, I have a home phone that I only use for outgoing calls (while all incoming calls go to my cell phone).  This is perfect to receive contest phone calls; whenever I receive a voicemail, I know that the odds are, I won something!

Texts:  As we are now in a time that text contests are becoming more and more common, I usually will enter one without thinking twice, but if I find myself receiving more than the occasional text (and luckily, I have unlimited text messaging on my phone plan), then I can always choose to stop the incoming texts by texting STOP.

Regular Mail:  This is the one type of Spam that I really don’t worry about.  If I do get regular mail that is considered Spam, I do not recognize it often.  Rather, I will just toss any junk mail that I receive.  It’s that easy.

The moral of the story is that the Spam mail or junk mail received through texts, phone, regular mail, e-mail, and Facebook could be a pain, but often is not an issue if you plan accordingly or are prepared for it.  It is definitely still worth entering contests if you have the time to do so!

Leave a Reply

