The Time Commitment: How long does it take to WIN?

Leave a comment

January 30, 2013 by Cory

Image

I have now shared the basics of entering contests and sweepstakes.  If you have no idea what I’m referring to, that means you probably have yet to check out my earlier blog posts (which you can find at https://luckorskill.wordpress.com).  The one thing I haven’t emphasized enough though is the time commitment to do so.  Yes, it takes time to win contests, but more important than the quantity of how often you enter is the consistency of you entering.  Have you ever heard the saying that the only way you will win the lottery is by first buying a ticket?  It is the same way with contests and sweepstakes.  I’d recommend you entering a few a week every week instead of you spending hours and hours one day entering a bunch and then leaving it at that.

To help clarify, here’s how often I enter the contests that I have already written about:

  • Calling into Radio Stations – Unless I heard of a specific promotion that I will do my best to listen for, I usually only listen to radio stations when I am getting ready in the morning for the day, driving to work (sometimes), and every now and then on the weekends.   I will tend to successfully win something by calling into a station once every month or two months.
  • Loyal Listener Websites – I earn points and enter drawings either once or twice a week during the duration of one or two episodes (between 30 and 45 minutes each time).  This usually results in me winning at least two loyal listener prizes a month.
  • Facebook Sweepstakes – I will use the Sweepstakes application on Facebook to enter as many sweepstakes as possible over the course of one episode of a TV show a week (between 30 and 45 minutes).  This usually results in me winning at last one Facebook sweepstake a month.
  • Other Drawings, Raffles, and Sweepstakes – I usually find myself entering maybe five additional drawings a week resulting in me winning an additional contest every one to two months.

Ultimately, I probably listen to the radio occasionally and enter contests on average during 2 to 3 episodes of some TV show a week.  This results in a total of 5 to 7 prizes a month.  Not a bad ratio of minutes spent entering contests to prizes won!

Leave a Reply

